Is there a 4.22 C++ guide best practices somewhere?

Hi all. I’m going through a tutorial up on Pluralsight’s website. It’s C++ and Blueprints. The video series was done a couple years ago. Even when I follow his instructions step by step I’m getting lots of errors. I think it’s probably a combination of him using an older version of both UE4 and older VS. I’m running UE4.22 and VS2019.

Some of the problems I’m experiencing is the compiler not finding header files with Paper2D. I had to manually go enter in the path to the header file. But, even after that, I got compile errors with .generated. files.

I’m extremely new to UE development, however, I’ve been writing software for many-a-moon. :). Having said that, my primary language has been C# and my C++ is pretty crusty. But hey. I’ll dust it off.

So, yeah, I was hoping to find out if there is a doc that really shows the best practices for setting up VS and C++ to help rid of compile errors dealing with paths and what not.

Thanks!!!

I am in the process of writing a decent guide for setting up QT Creator for the Engine in Linux. But the basic methodology is invariant of the platform. What you have to recognize is existence two very important files

1. UnrealBuildTool (present in Engine/Binaries/DotNet/)
  2. UnrealHeaderTool (present in Engine/Binaries/WhateverPlatformYouAreUsing/)

These files are the essence of any Unreal Engine project, beginning from generating IDE specific files and compiling/debugging the code on platform. For their commandline parameters, read the platform specific scripts (or look into the source). Good luck!

When you’re done with that, you can write one for Windows/Visual Studio. :smiley:

Let us just say that writing about proprietary software is not my “cup of coffee”!

The “.generated.h” file needs to be the last include file, anything else you include should happen before that. I’m not sure what other help I can give without seeing the build errors.