Is it worth the investment at this stage?

So I’ve been thinking of developing with Unreal, I avoided UE3 due to it’s reliance on UnrealScript and the editor being a little bit too complex (compared to say Unity 3D). With this in mind as I have no designs / assets to create a game yet, is it worth the investment of $19 now, cancelling payment to keep the current version. Designing something and then if I need extra features, re-sub?

I ask this as I’m aware it’s still in development, if I invest now am I going to miss out on some very valuable features that are fundamental to a games success or can games be developed entirely on one release? (or at least mostly) I ask mainly due to my budget being tight at present (I’m a student) so I’m happy to invest $19 now if there are enough features, documentation, tutorials and more to get me fully integrated with the engine. If there are, where do I get started?

Thanks!

Euden

Start today :slight_smile:

Don’t let $19 get in the way if you are serious about learning the engine and growing your skills as a game developer.
You will only hold yourself back.

There is more than enough documentation and tutorials already to get you very comfortable with the engine.

In my oPinion, absolutely. I admit to being bias though, I’ve been supporting It from the start without really using It, mostly just wanting to give my monetary approval to what I see as something of a risk that massively benefits gaming. Anyway I’ve finally had the time to use the engine and It’s incredible. I have no programming knowledge and very little knowledge of anything else, and I was able to make a Space flight game within an hours work. I can’t Wait to see what this engine will do in the hands of the proficient, and even those without It will be able to create great games without being limited by inability to code.