Download

Is it possible to transform, or move/Rotate, levels programmatically?

I want to make an FPS game as an experiment to track the performance differences between games** that move the world around the player** versus a game where the player moves in the world. I want to conduct this experiment using levels if that is possible.

I am new to UnrealEngine so does anybody know if there is any code available to move the location of levels in the world?

Essentially I want a persistent level with sub-levels. The player is at origin and everything associated with the player is the near origin as well. Now instead of moving the player when they press W. I want the world to move backward. But I’m not sure what function or classes can do that?

Any ideas?

Much appreciated

Look up the world origin shifting would be a good place to start I’d imagine.

To add to the previous post, shifting the world origin is a pretty expensive operation so I wouldn’t recommend doing it often - it’s really meant for large worlds where precision breaks down far from origin. If you want to use it, it’s probably best to do it in a grid-like fashion, where once you move say, 100-150K units from origin, then it shifts back.

This may not be an issue for you but it also has issues in Multiplayer (since the Server is always in zero-origin space no matter what). PhysX also tends to misbehave when you suddenly yeet the world origin away.

I looked into world origin shifting, which led me to find https://github.com/EpicGames/UnrealE…vate/Level.cpp at line 2176 (void ULevel::ApplyWorldOffset). It loops through actors and what not to executes a special ApplyWorldOffset function. That sounds pretty dirty to me.

I wonder if I can have a special object and make everything child to that object. Then I’d have to move just one thing but, the next problem though is linking and updating objects based on a parent just as bad?