Is it possible to make a full game using blueprint?

Hey guys - Unreal noob here. I use C# for my day job but using C# in the context of Unreal has come very slowly to me since there’s such an overwhelming amount to learn, so I figured I’d start using Blueprints.

I’m planning on making some smaller little projects to learn the basics of blueprints, just to get a feel for them, and really try to get familiar with them before moving back into the C++ side to learn the code.

After a few sample projects are done and I decide to set off and make an actual small “game”, are blueprints an okay way to go? Can I get something actually playable and fun with them or will I eventually need to get into the code side before I hope to ship something fun?

Bonus question - in your experiences, does starting with Blueprints aid or impair the learning and retention of C++ within Unreal? I’d eventually like to transition to making C++ projects and using Blueprints as a way to fill gaps rather than things done entirely with them, so am I on track with what I hope to achieve?

Thanks all!
https:/// [https:///]](https:///) https:///

I made a multiplayer game with dedicated servers hosted on google cloud, with steam integration and persistent characters(which are saved on cloud) using only blueprints and a handful of plugins (UWorks for example).

2 Likes

Yes it is possible. We published a game, it’s called TARTARUS. Tartarus developed with using blueprint only.

1 Like

Completely agree with you. I did not have to use C++, but i did have to use these plugins which are available on the market.
-LowEntryFileManager
-LowEntryJson
-UWorks

And it’s true, if a dev behind these plugins disappears, its a very very big problem.