Is it possible to check similarity of two recorded sounds, "throwing" out a noise and a time offset?

Hello users in this forum section! I have downloaded this plugin for audio analysis, but I don’t know the technical side of the question from the header (I am a programmer, not a sound designer) so I want some set of checks (energy, spectral etc.) to verify that, for example, during the last 5 seconds there was a sound “equivalent” to the previously recorded one in “main” tones (it is clearly understandable that two “real” sounds recorded at the different time moments cannot be equal “bit by bit” due to noises and other natural factors), probably with different time of start of that “main” sound. The “sensitivity” must be such that check usually identifies sounds produced by one source (bell ring, door opening etc.) as equivalent, but not such that program recognizes random sound appeared in the background as equivalent. I think it is reachable by the usual programmer, not a deep professional.

This is, in general, still an open research problem.

That being said, you may be able to do something like training an open-source deep learning model to detect similar sounds. Two models that are good at this, are “Spleeter” (which by default separates vocals from music) and “Whisper” (which does speech detection.)

You might be able to do something by figuring out what kinds of sounds you want to detect, and then which frequency ranges are most salient for those sounds, and then use the FFT part of the detection. Because sounds may have slightly different speeds, a matching algorithm might start with the first spectrogram, and extract fingerprints you want to “hit” in the input sound, and then scan the input sound for a sequence of those fingerprints.

So, very briefly:

to record:

spectrograms = empty vector of spectogram
lastspectrogram = empty
foreach block in original sound:
    blockspectrogram = calculate spectrogram from block