is it good to keep updating the engine while learning?

Hi Everyone,

So I’m pretty new to Unreal 4 and I’ve been following the various video tutorials out there… I’m getting through them mostly successful but it’s clear that Epic’s not concerned about this when they make name changes to things… like the brightness parameter in light being renamed to illumination… come on really? many older basic tutorial videos are difficult to follow verbatim because of little (but significant) changes like this.

ok rant over… so anywho, all this got me thinking… with them changing fundamental stuff, does this mean that upgrading likely leads to broken projects? I figure if the tutorials don’t work to the letter, then this means things much break along the way…

Is it better to just stick with a particular version to learn with and then i guess get good and then update later on and deal with all the changes then? I could see going either way… on the one hand its annoying to learn from old videos… but then on the other hand why keep up with the latest version when most likely 99% of it is stuff that wouldn’t impact a beginner anyway…

Thanks!

I believe it is a good idea to stick with one version however, I believe I learned more about the engine when things broke from engine updates. It made me dig deeper into the settings and test almost every check box to find out what went wrong. Because of this, I had a lot of “Ah Ha” moments.

Sure if UE4 is a toy for one to play with but if your making a game for real then I think it’s a better decision on Epics part to release early rather than making us wait another two years for a polished engine just to start the process. Sure moving stuff around is a bit annoying but makes up by adding that one key feature additions that you need to make your stuff work.