Is it even worth it? (General Question about ArchViz)

Good morning to everyone who’s in PST, to everyone else just hello :slight_smile:
I have a question for everyone doing ArchViz!

A little background info: I’ve been using 3ds max for quite a while now, never professionally though (sold a few models on TurboSquid).
I am very familiar with AutoCad and Vray as well as most of Adobe Products (due to a profession) .

At the moment I work as a Graphic Designer, even though I’ve been doing this for almost 10 years now I feel like I want to
move on…don’t want to sound melancholy, but it feels like I wasted almost 10 years of my life doing something I wasn’t really enjoyed.

The job I’m doing right now puts a food on my table and roof over my head, but since I always had a passion for Architecture
and 3D Modeling I want to try and make my career in this field.

SO my question is: Is it really worth it! Is it possible for a single person to actually make money doing ArchViz? How long it takes to be comfortable and starting to outsource your work?
I’m not interested in selling stuff on Marketplace. And last but not least is UE4 plays a big role in ArchViz professional community?

P.S. If this question is for Off-topic section Moderators can move me, cheers!

No it’s not worth it. Every Architect coming out of Architecture school now knows how to do 3D renderings, you will be competing against the entire world where people get paid dollars a day. I have been in the Architecture field over 30 years and made a HUGE mistake of going down the path of 3D, I make less now than I did in my 20’s.

All that said some people do well in the field but you really need to be in the Architecture field for awhile imo, you have to know how to read drawings well, understand photography, composition, lighting, products and on and on. If you really want to get in though you should get a job at a Archviz studio and see what it’s all about.