Is it a good engine for a Indie FPS game?

Hello, I have been working with Unity for a couple years but I don’t like its graphics any more and I would like to jump to engine to create an Indie FPS game based on II World War which with some time will change to future environment against monsters(game based on single player with interesting story + multiplayer). Is it a good choice to make game in engine which I wish to include very high graphics quality with my own models from Blender including characters, weapons, environment etc.?

In my opinion it’s a good choice to use engine for a fps game, because the engine is really easy to use, there are many templates which you can take a look at, a friendly community, blueprints,… :slight_smile:

Absolutely, Unreal is the best FPS engine as the devs used it to make every Unreal game and the templates are really helpful and in addition there is a lot of FPS animsets in the marketplace.

UE4 is great choice. Multiplayer is great (You can check out Unreal Tournament 4 gameplay). But You HAVE TO LEARN some UE4 tech ASPECTS before start.
Such as

• Baked GI (no level dynamics with built light, still can be achieved with dynamic lighting)
  • Mesh based level design (BSPs ain’t working well)
  • C++ code (most of AI and gameplay behavior can be done with Blueprints; some folks added C# through Mono)
  • Still in DEEP development (editor mostly)

Some games already released on UE4

• Refunktion (free, great example of blueprint driven gameplay)
  • Lili: Child of Geos (not a ‘game’ but a graphics demo tps/rpg =))

List of games can be found here:
://www.moddb/engines/unreal-engine-4/games
://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Unreal_Engine_games#Unreal_Engine_4

UE is the FPS engine, but making indie FPS now is kind of pointless, your game will compete with all those big sharks out there. I would say that making more AAA fps games for now is quite risky unless you have some fun and new ideas for gameplay.