Is a 100% UI Game possible?

I am completely new to gamedev and UE (although i have watched some beginner tutorials, mostly on UI) i want to create a 2D-puzzle game, is it possible to make a game that’s entirely comprised of UI?

Would things like this be possible in an UI only game?:

1. collecting items (item would just be a picture, for example a shovel)
  2. making those items be able to change different variables of the player when equipped
  3. make those items be saved permanently and be able to be used in different levels

You will struggle. Anyone would. The engine is not really geared towards this. But you could treat everything as if was 2d. There’s even a brand new fancy ortho rendering mode that could help.

Do check out paper 2d on yt first to see what it can do.

Yes i have PaperZD installed, the thing is that this puzzle game will have no real “character”. You will just be clicking on different elements, like 2d boxes and stuff.
Maybe i’ll just have to have an invisible character or have it out of view of the screen…

You do not need a character to make a game. It really is not required. Is your game’s board / playing field larger than the viewport? Do you need to pan the camera around? If so, a simple pawn with a camera attached is enough.

Do note that your title says UI. Theres is massive difference between 2D and UI.

While the User Interface (Unreal Motion Graphics - UMG) would be borderline awkward for gameplay, interacting with sprites in a traditinal (paper) 2d sense is rather straighforward.

Yes the playing board will be bigger than the viewport in some levels, after some reading/watching more tutorials it seems that the 2D route will be the most optimal.