IP rights relating to game development (a brief guide)

I saw a few IP issues crop up on a thread here and some of the ideas had got a bit confused/confusing, so I thought I would briefly (!) write to clarify the situation, for general edification. I am not an expert on all rights but I am a practising UK/European patent attorney so I at least have patents covered. This is not official advice and it is quite possible that I got some things wrong and/or I’m out of date on some stuff. I’ll try and respond to any queries here but I have other stuff on my plate so can’t guarantee a response. Also IANAGD (games developer) and there may be a lot of conventions/history relating to this that I’m unaware of, so please bear with me.

Different types of IP Right applicable to games

IP rights can be divided into two main types: registered and unregistered. Unregistered rights (e.g. copyright) exist when a relevant work is created, but they are a bit nebulous and difficult to enforce. Registered rights (e.g. patents, registered designs) cost money and require action to be taken (in some cases by a lawyer) to create them, but they are relatively more well defined and easier to enforce (and correspondingly to be caught by). So, we have…

• Patents