Inventor to Unreal Studio - Complex Assemblies

Hi all. My day job is a draftsman, and I am wondering if anyone has any method for importing an Inventor assembly file that has nested sub-assemblies in it? I have had great success importing a single assembly file made up of just parts, but trying to import anything with an additional subassembly imports with no geometry data. (only a datasmith import file is created)

I can change my drafting method to keep everything in a single assembly, but if there is a way to avoid it either now or in the near future, I would obviously rather keep my current method for cleanliness.

Thanks for any insight.

I think that is a bug. Report Unreal Studio bugs here: https://unrealstudiohelp.epicgames.com/s/article/How-do-I-report-a-bug

Thanks very much for the reply. I’ll submit a bug report asap.

Alright, I posted the bug report. I didn’t attach anything as our models are fairly sensitive but I can get around that if the need arises.

Just a word of note though, my license is for 2016. I’m not able to upgrade at this time due to it being an old standalone one from a long time ago. If this functionality only works on more current versions of Inventor then I can make the adjustments. If anyone is able to try with the current version of Inventor that would be great.

Steps:

1. Create an Inventor assembly file made up of multiple assemblies.
  2. Pack and Go everything to a single location.
  3. Import the main assembly file with Datasmith to Unreal Studio.
  4. Only a Datasmith file is created in Studio, no geometry data is imported.

I haven’t found any issues importing a single assembly file seemingly regardless of part count.

No, this is an issue with all versions I think. Our Inventor importer is a Version 1.0, so we expect some issues as people spin up to speed on it. I thought we caught this in our Datasmith beta, but it looks like it slipped through.