Interested in hearing people's stories coming from other engines.

Hey guys, I want to introduce myself as I had in the past. I had previously used Unity as my main engine and I still really like it. I had never tried Unreal though, but when I saw the new price offer I figured I would give it a try. I am definitely not dissapointed. Its been like 3 months or less, and I am still learning ALOT everyday. I wouldn’t say I am fluent in Unreal by any sense of the word. I was wondering if you could post your story here. I would like to know 1)What engine were you using before 2)What made you come to Unreal 3)How long you have been using Unreal 4)and how “fluent” are you in making what you want, and how long it took you to get there. I understand the last point has a lot of subjectivity to it, but just give it your best shot! Can’t wait to hear from you guys!

I have just finished writing part 2 in a short blog series ‘Unity vs Unreal: Choosing an engine for Space Dust Racing’ in which I cover our experiences in Unity and UE4 so far.
In Part 1: Adventures Unity, I mostly concentrate on Unity 4 and a few of the issues we faced, mainly on the rendering side.
In Part 2: The Unreal Deal, I introduce some of the benefits of UE4 and go over a couple of our initial findings.
In the final part I will be going over the remaining big ticket items that helped form our decision to switch over to Unreal Engine 4.

So to cover your points:

1. Unity
  2. A bunch of different reasons (see the blog posts :P)
  3. Since public release/GDC 2014
  4. Still learning different aspects of the engine but our vertical slice is coming together nicely!
  1. Unity (mainly)
  2. The main reason was that I wanted to pratice my C++ programming skill. And it looked **** good!
  3. Maybe a month or so.