Integrating MATLAB With Sheel Extension?

Hello mates !

I managed to synthesize physically based gun sounds with equations on MATLAB and able to write them on wav files. It is my thesis work on Game Technologies.
You define caliber, barrel length, your azimuth and distance to gun and get the Muzzle Blast with one reflection, Cracking Sound and Impact Sound. Good for FPS, TPS, action games and animations. No longer searching for free firearm sounds on the net.

Here is a form of Muzzle Blast M16 (5.56 NATO, 18 meters)

So now I want to integrate it into UE4 in some way. It would be a great way to demonstrate it and even a bit later I can release it to community.My advisor told me about a possiblity of turning it into an .exe and using shell extension to integrate it into UE4. I am not good with this stuff yet.

Is it possible ? Is there an easier way ? Or how to do this ?

Thanks.

I suppose the question is how to get UE4 to communicate with MATLAB, correct? Does it need to happen real-time or would it be through some interim file/process on the disk?

I wouldn’t do it through a .exe shell extension as for one it limits it to a single platform (Windows), plus it might need elevated privileges to setup/run.

I did not look into MATLAB API so that’s something you need to check, but with UE4 you can add plugins to communicate with external events/processes or use existing things (perhaps OSC comes to mind, not sure if applicable here).

Maybe if you give us more details, we could come up with a way of integration?

I know this post is old, but I am working on something similar for my thesis.

MATLAB has an API and can interface with C++.

The documentation for that is: https://www.mathworks.com/help/matlab/calling-matlab-engine-from-c-c-and-fortran-programs.html
with a video of how to do it in Visual Studio here: Integrating MATLAB and C/C++, Part 2: Visualizing and Testing C/C++ Code - Video - MATLAB