Instance/Modular Importing?

Hi guys, sorry for this newbie question. I am a 3D artist. I model everything architecture in 3dsMax, which has lots of methods to distribute instances and build assets. But when I import them into UE4 via FBX (which also supports instance), they all become either one mesh (if combine mesh is enabled) or separate building blocks (if combine is disabled).

I really enjoy modeling in 3dsMax or other 3D applications. But I don’t want to waste my time to port modules into UE4 and rearrange everything again. Are there any tools or scripts that can do this?

1, replace all the instances with a module
2, get the position/rotation/scale info of each instance from the FBX
3, re-arrange these modules based on that.

So that we can save so much time and gain so much control and modify individual items without re-import the whole architecture object.

Thank you so much!

Put the same pivot for each mesh, after import select the meshes needed in your content browser and drag them into a scene, they will be correctly placed (like in 3DSMax i mean)…you will still have to group them in UE4 by hand :wink:

You need to reverse the workflow. Dont waste your time arranging everything in max. Just build it tehre and do the arrangement in UE :slight_smile:

Thank you guys. I guess I can follow the protocols like everyone does. In the field, we have built buildings and bridges that have thousands of instances, it will just be impossible to remake them in Unreal.

For example, something more complicated like this one will be very time consuming.

Macoll, do you mean Unreal will take care of the instancing in this case? Thanks again.

If you really want to import that in one go, modify the can pivots in max and set it to the world origin.
If your placement logic demanded for a local object origin of the can, Im sure there is a max script that can set all can pivots to 0/0/0.
When you import that then in UE4, create a loop that spawns themeshes into the world.