Importing many objects - max to ue4

Hi everyone.

Noob question here, i’m very new to game engine. i need your advise…

So, i’ve done creating and positioning some low poly objects for my game level. i’ve done it in 3ds max.
You can see them in the image i’ve attached, the total count of the objects is 650 objects with 40k tris (the number shown in the image is for ALL the objects include the hidden ones)
some of the objects are identical, some are unique. they are all separated, not combined. many of them will be static, not animated, few of them will be animated and clickable (or interactable) in game.

I have tried moving all their pivot points into one position (0,0,0) in max, exported them as single FBX file and import the FBX into UE4, but when i tried to place them all (drag and drop) into scene, it crashed. so in the second approach i drag and drop them into UE4 scene about 20 to 30 objects at a time, and its working fine.

my question is:

1. Is this the correct way of creating level props and placing them into UE4?
  2. If all the objects pivot is at one position, they will be positioned correctly in the UE4, yes, but what if i want to animate them on their own center point, like rotating, even moving them is difficult because the pivot point is not on the center. what is the correct way of doing this?
  3. many objects are identical, is it performance-wise if i import them once and duplicate them in-engine, or keep doing it like i did (duplicate them and set their position in 3ds max, and then import them all as single FBX file) ?

some info of my game:
my target platform as for now is PC, low to high spec.
the level will be a small portion of a city, it will contain about 10 buildings with this kind of interior inside them, so the total of tris in one level will be about 500K

Hi.

My answers would be as follows.

1. Use Datasmith, follow manual for guidelines.