Imported Blender object creates glitchy shadows

Hey,

I’m a beginner in UE5 but I recently followed a Blender to Unreal Engine 5 tutorial. The Animation of the Windmill is created in Blender.
On a freshly created “First Person” Scene in UE5, no settings changed, shadows look like this in UE5:

Edit: When I give the Object a constant but slight rotation from the unreal blueprints via event tick delta seconds the shadows update just fine:

I’m assuming theres a setting that controls how often the shadows get updated?

In the UE5 Asset Editor the shadows look fine, like this:

In UE4 they are also fine (same import settings on the asset):

It’s probably something super simple but I’m totally stuck.
What am I doing wrong in UE5?

Looks like a bug with virtual shadow maps, since it seems to update occasionally my guess is it has something to do with the caching.

Maybe try disabling VSM caching?
r.Shadow.Virtual.Cache 0

1 Like

You’re a genius! Turning off the caching fixed it for now.
The command you mentioned lead me to the following page:
Virtual Shadow Maps | Unreal Engine Documentation
There seem to be some known issues with caching but I’m nowhere close the “max pages” and its not a nanite asset. According to the page disabling the caching only should be used for debugging purposes. Is there a way to enable a higher frequency of shadowmap updates for this object or should I wait for the next version of the EA and see if it will be fixed?

Thanks for your help

I’m not sure that’s possible. Personally if this were my project, I wouldn’t make these skeletal meshes at all. I’d split them up into two parts and rotate the blades with a rotation component or by doing it the way you’re doing above, updating the rotation on tick, or by animating it in the material using WPO (cheapest option, probably)