Import obj?

Hello everybody!

I’ve just started playing with blueprints, and for what I want to try next I would like to create some props using a few free-to-use models. The problem is that I don’t have the slightest clue as to how one would load these (obj format) models to be able to use as static meshes in a level.

Now, I’m not an artist so please keep any explanations simple :slight_smile:

First of all download a 3d program (blender, 3ds , maya) - now in the 3d program you have to open your obj file (mostyl you have to click onto import - obj -…) - then export/save it as a fbx file - now just import it into the UE4

Instead of using a 3d program, you could also use the Autodesk FBX Converter.

If you already have a 3d modeler, and it does not support obj directly, you can use a tool like Autodesk FBX Converter.

://usa.autodesk/adsk/servlet/pc/item?siteID=123112&id=22694909

The fbx converter is free, btw…

Much appreciated! That should probably get me going.

We plan to add obj importing support to the engine! I think it will be in 4.2.

You guys/gals are full of surprises. :smiley: I’m sure obj support is going to make a lot of people happy as an Easter b-u-n-n-y.(for some reason the forum thinks b-u-n-n-y is a bad word. :slight_smile:

Wow, all of sudden! Good new :slight_smile:

I can understand forum.

://29.media.tumblr/tumblr_m1vmpvVZyC1qeuvxbo2_500.gif

Awesome news :smiley:

I tried this, but UE4 always freezes at 75% of the importing process. BTW: The file selection window offers also obj files for direct import, but the result is the same - freeze at 75 percent.

Has it something to do with the import settings?

1 Like