iMac for Unreal Engine 4

Hello,
I’m very new to Unreal Engine 4 and as my PC is too weak to run it I have to buy a new one and for a couple of reasons I decided to buy a Mac. But I’m not sure if a 2013 iMac is enough. Can Unreal Engine 4 be used on a 5K iMac (2014 and 2015)? Is a Intel Core i5 processor enough or do I need a Intel Core i7 one?
Is the Intel Iris Pro Graphics 6200 too weak for Unreal Engine 4? Is 1TB Fusion Drive enough?
Thanks in advance for any answers.

Hell yeah. Im running ue4 on my laptop with a intel core i5 processor and 1tb processor 8gb ram 1gb video card. And its a laptop! Yeah it will run fine on your mac :stuck_out_tongue:

I know this is thread is dated…but I thought I’d throw in my 2-cents.

My 2013 27 inch iMac, with 3.2 GHz intel Core i5 and 8 gigs of RAM, sporting a NVIDIA GeForce GT 755M 1024 MB video card is not enough. I get consistent crashes when trying to populate a small scene with foliage. I want to use Unreal, but it seems not able to handle any type of heavy load on my current system. It was a simple scene with no texturing on the ground plane…began placing foliage and it would crash. This was a small, simple scene…I’m not sure why it would crash, but that has been my experience. I’ve had to use Unity3d because it’s not crashing on me and has been relatively easy to use to set scenes and quick mockups.

That’s my 2-cents.

It depends on the specifications of the iMac and what you want to do with the engine.
An i5 should not be a problem (On several high-performance project, it turns out that hyper-threading can be a disadvantage).
But be sure to have a decent amount of ram 32GB is recommended, so go as close as this as you can (although you don’t seem to have much of a choice with Apple).
Get a good book though. Building the lighting and the thousands of shaders will take ages.

You’d want an SSD over an hybrid drive. Even if the SSD is smaller.