iMac for development

Hello, I’m very new to Unreal Engine 4 and as my PC is too weak to run it I have to buy a new one and for a couple of reasons I decided to buy a Mac. But I’m not sure if a 2013 iMac is enough. Can Unreal Engine 4 be used on a 5K iMac (2014 and 2015)? Is a Intel Core i5 processor enough or do I need a Intel Core i7 one? Is the Intel Iris Pro Graphics 6200 or AMD Radeon R9 M390 too weak for Unreal Engine 4? Is 1TB Fusion Drive enough? Thanks in advance for any answers. :slight_smile:

You’d want to go with the most up to date hardware, the Radeon graphics card would be much much better than the integrated Intel GPU. If you want to use Mac for game development, the iMac is the best value for the power

Thanks for the answer :slight_smile:
As my budget is limited I can’t upgrade everything. :frowning:
So I have to decide: The i7 processor i stead of the i5 one or the AMD Radeon R9 M390 instead of the M380 and additionally a 256GB SSD instead of the weaker Fusion Drive.
From what I have heard so far, the difference of the processors isn’t as big as the difference between the two graphic cards. but as don’t know enough about this topic, I’m not sure what to do.

Both of those GPU’s are pretty good, if it doesn’t have an SSD then having one will give a noticeable difference, at least for loading up the OS though that’s not a lot of space to store things so you might not want UE4 on that drive since it can use a massive amount of space.

Thank you again :slight_smile:
I already like this forum!
Well, the amount of storage isn’t the problem as I can buy an external drive later, if I really need it.
If I understand your post right, then it wouldn’t matter which of the two GPU’s I take.
So my specs would be:
i5 Intel processor 3,2 GHz
AMD Radeon R9 M390 (mobile version)
256 GB SSD
8 GB RAM
Will this iMac (5K) run complexer scenes (many physics objects, etc.) smoothly?
Thank you for your time :slight_smile: