Download

Im new to game design, quick question

I am hopefully learning First person shooter game design with unreal engine at some collage in a month, i have a idea for a game that i will be developing along with a few friends and i am just doing a little research on the engine before the class and before i start developing the game

The game i am making relies very very heavily on the AI, the AI has to be above and beyond the AI of most modern day AAA games. Does the unreal engine have a premade AI algorithm or whatever it is, do i make it from scratch, how does it work exactly?

Also i havent began development of the game yet and i dont know too much about game programing yet so try to explain it as simple as possible

-rkraiem100

AI is one of the most difficult things to program and usually require some strong math degrees. The tip I have for you is never go into Game Development saying : " It has to be better / beyond what AAA games do". If it was possible to get better and beyond that in a AAA game do you think they would have spent some money and got it done?. Consider they have more resources and talent then you and I currently have and yet they couldn’t pull it off to the standard that your idea is looking for.

So, my suggestion is instead look to taking a strong cut of what you see out there, some 1/10 of the game that the AAA game producer created and only then will you be actually be able to potentially finish the game, which will be a very daunting task at even 1/10th the size of the project.

Note: UE4 has AI behavior tree’s in beta and has pathfinding on a navmesh. There are many aspects to AI, there is

A) How does the AI move from location A to location B.
B) How does the AI even consider that he must move from location A to Location B.