Im new here, need some advice

Hey guys!

Recently, I’ve been wanting to get into the games industry, and thought to myself, the best way to do this would be to make my own games and/or levels.

However, I don’t have any programming experience. Well I’ve started to go over some C++ tutorials on Youtube but I’m still a complete novice (really enjoying it though)

I have been very intrigued by the Unreal 4 engine and was wondering whether or not this engine would be a good place for a complete novice to start? The whole idea really excites me and a part of me really wants to get stuck into all the tutorials.

Just wanted to get feedback from anyone else in my position, and of course from everyone else in the community.

I know it will take me a while to get the hang of it but I’m willing to put in the hours. I’ve been unemployed since graduation :frowning: hence, I have plenty of time.

Thanks!

Welcome! :slight_smile:

In my opinion it is really easy to start game development with this engine (actually with all Unreal Engines -> I use UDK since 2 years and the UE4 since the beta), because there are many tutorials available (even official ones), a really helpful community, a awesome documentation, content examples and in my opinion in general the engine is pretty easy to use, but you will have to invest much time into it!

I started game development with the UDK engine and after a few months and a really hard time with all the stuff, it began to run very smoothly. I created many video tutorials, helped people with their problems, started being active in the forum.

But you have to keep in mind that you also have to learn 3d programs (blender, 3ds ,…), texture programs (gimp, photoshop),… and in my opinion that’s the hardest part.

A good hint is, that you should concentrate onto some few areas and not everything -> you wont be able to do/learn everything :stuck_out_tongue: