I'm new and I'm wondering whether I should go with Unity 5 or Unreal Engine 4 for my game

Hey guys,

I just recently downloaded UE4 a couple days ago and I’m going through the tutorials. I am COMPLETELY new to gaming meaning that I have never made a game before. The only knowledge that I possess that is remotely similar to making a game is that I know a little bit about how to program in Java. Anyways, after I’m done learning how to use UE4 through the tutorials, I want to make a game that is somewhat like Cities: Skylines. Is it possible for me - a complete beginner - to make a game like that on UE4 or should I use Unity 5?

Thanks in advance!

It’s going to be a challenge as a beginner either way. Note that with UE4 you have a more complete package, it has all of the most important systems included whereas with Unity you would likely need to buy some stuff from the asset store to get certain features or to make some things easier.

You can do everything with the UE4! :smiley:
But to create an entire game you need a little bit of time to learn everything, because you need to know how to use the engine, a 3d tool, a texture tool, a sound tool,…

Here are some useful links:
https://docs.unrealengine/latest/INT/
https://wiki.unrealengine/Videos
https://wiki.unrealengine/Main_Page

But due to blueprints + the awesome community I personally would recommend you the UE4 :wink:

Personally I haven’t used Unity, nor do I care to (The interface does not look like something I would want to look at every day). It looks like Cities: Skylines is a moderately larger game, which is where UE4 comes in handy as it can handle large amounts of objects in a world. UE4 is perfect for beginners, after 6 months of using UE4 I am absolutely confident in my ability to make any game (besides where performance may be awful), and I think you could get started on a small game after just 2-3 days of familiarizing yourself with the engine and blueprints.