I'm a newbie to UE4 and I am having trouble with the level blueprint, gate, flipflop nodes

Briefly, what I wanted to do was to set up a keyboard key like most games that is my action key that does 50 million things. Think Resident Evil for where A did everything or thousands of other examples. I also wanted an inventory system for less than 12 items and a switch to end the then spit out a level complete screen that would spit out different stats like time taken in the level enemies killed, secrets found etc. Then it would go to a loading/map screen with the name of the next level they would go to and the next level would load and so on. I found a tutorial online for the inventory system which, in a blank project, worked just fine and seems to be what I need.

However when i tried to implement the inventory system in my pre-existing project the e key did not work to grab the item. After watching the tutorials dozens of time I’m sure everything is correct but I was wrong. After a lot of troubleshooting and debugging I’ve pinpointed part of my problem.

My problem seems to be I did do a lot of eventing in the level blueprint. As they say hindsight is always 20/20. I have learned since then that most beginners make the mistake of doing stuff in the level blueprint. Raises hand yep that was me too. When I deleted all nodes in my level blueprint magically the e key picked up the item from the level. So cool I learned that most likely the bug was something in the level blueprint.

My level blueprint contains 8 sets of nodes predominantly responsible for running a bunch of different matinees that move sections of actors “mostly walls” cubes or planes up revealing the secret chambers and then after a few seconds they close. I also learned at this point that apparently there is no way to call a matinee to play from within a blueprint which is why a tutorial told me I had to do this matinee stuff in the level blueprint in the first place.