I'd like to know how you can find the location (X,Y,Z) of any point in the game

Hi, I’m new to Unreal to please bare with me.

I’d like to know how you can find the location of any given point in the engine.
For example, the location of one of the corners of a rectangle with the centre of the rectangle being at (0,0,0)…

1 Like

I am not totally sure what you are asking for, but if i understood right , you could just select the mesh you want and if you look in the right side of the screen there is a detail window. There you can find the exact location of you mesh in the world (x,y,z), along with other importand information about your mesh. If you want to use the coordinates of a mesh in blueprint you could use get location of actor method to do it.

Thanks for replying.
Yes I understand that. But I meant something different. For example you have a cube. On the details window it states the location of the object. However, I want to be able to know the locations of the individual corners. Not the middle of thee cube.

Also, can you please tell me how I can get the ruler tool? I read online that you would need to hold down the wheel button on your mouse to use the measuring tool. However, when I hold down the wheel button it only allows me to move forward/backwards and up/down…

You can use the GetDirectionVector to find the distance between 2 points. If you know the location of the center point of the mesh and the size of the mesh , then GetDirectionVector could be useful . Check this too. Starting from point A, get location X distance along given direction - Blueprint - Unreal Engine Forums
I do not know what you want to do with this , but if you want to move a mesh from one point to another you can use a function , and then transform node to the new coordinates that you could find with GetDirectionVector or even alone if you subtract the old from the new location .