I want to use yolov7 on unreal engine

I am a college student studying UAV system in Korea.
I recently encountered Unreal Engine and I want to use yolo here, but I don’t know how :frowning:
how to do it?

thanks

Hey there @seozero00! Neural Networks are pretty far out of my wheelhouse and I couldn’t find solid resources on integrating YOLO specifically, are you intended to just render out training images or integrate it into the engine for real time use?

@SupportiveEntity
I would like to detect buildings (landmarks) within a virtual environment in real-time using a camera. I believe building and invoking YOLO from a C++ class in an Unreal Engine project is the way to go, but I am struggling with the process as it is unfamiliar to me.

Thank you.

Understood. There is an API made for Neural Network purposes inside the engine that might be of use to you, though it’s usually used a bit differently from what I gather. Since it can use ONNX runtimes it may be applicable, though you’ll have to vet that claim as I’m mostly a layman to ML. Nico may know of better resources however!

Disclaimer: One or more of these links are unaffiliated with Epic Games. Epic Games is not liable for anything that may occur outside of this Unreal Engine domain. Please exercise your best judgment when following links outside of the forums.

However I couldn’t find any resources on YOLO implementation with Unreal, it does seem that some users have done it, though their repo is undisclosed.

Here’s a Repo using YOLOv7 in C++ that could offer some inspiration, though it’s not built for Unreal Engine.

3 Likes

Thanks for looping me in @SupportiveEntity

Hey @seozero00
Yes, you can use NNE for this purpose. There are several ways of doing this, with increasing difficulty. I would recommend to start easy and then make it more performant/difficult as you go.