I have no idea

I am a video editor. I work as a freelancer with video game developers, and design game trailers, idents stuff like that. I also love videogames.

I have so many ideas - full design documents for games that don’t exist. I am not a programmer or an animator (unless you count video work) or a 3D modeller. I am Jon Snow. I know nothing. All I really know is the Source engine, as I designed levels for years - but I never did any coding or anything more complicated than simple input/output triggers.

So I guess what I want to know is… is making a game - something simple, even - unrealistic for someone in my position? Is it something I can do alone? Certainly complex models and animations aren’t something I’d attempt alone, what I’m talking about is the core game. I have a couple of ideas that are small - ish, but I have no experience whatsoever and I don’t know if I could even get my head around basic code. What if it gets too complicated? What if there are bugs?

I’ve thought about Source, and I’ve thought about Unity, and I’ve thought about Unreal. I don’t even know where to begin. Is Unreal a good choice for babby’s first game? Babby’s first line of code? I have so many ideas, and I want to play them, but first I have to make them and I have no idea how.

If you keep your game very simple then maybe. Remember that for this kind of stuff people spend years learning before they do anything serious.

Well that’s a good sign. If what you’ve said is true, you would have a better start than (even) some professional teams.