Download

I have added a virtual function to AActor, why can't i compile?

Hello! I am relatively new to C++ and UE4, and for an experiment, i have tried adding this line of code in the public section of the AActor class in Actor.h

virtual void Hit();

However i get the following error when i try to compile (well, when i try and add code to the project, oddly enough, i can compile fine just with the compile button)

CompilerResultsLog:Error: Error TPExampleGameMode.cpp.obj : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol "public: virtual void __cdecl AActor::Hit(void)" (?Hit@AActor@@UEAAXXZ)
CompilerResultsLog:Error: Error TPExample.generated.cpp.obj : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol "public: virtual void __cdecl AActor::Hit(void)" (?Hit@AActor@@UEAAXXZ)
CompilerResultsLog:Error: Error DestroyableCube.cpp.obj : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol "public: virtual void __cdecl AActor::Hit(void)" (?Hit@AActor@@UEAAXXZ)
CompilerResultsLog:Error: Error DestroyableObj.cpp.obj : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol "public: virtual void __cdecl AActor::Hit(void)" (?Hit@AActor@@UEAAXXZ)
CompilerResultsLog:Error: Error DestroyableObject.cpp.obj : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol "public: virtual void __cdecl AActor::Hit(void)" (?Hit@AActor@@UEAAXXZ)
CompilerResultsLog:Error: Error TPExampleCharacter.cpp.obj : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol "public: virtual void __cdecl AActor::Hit(void)" (?Hit@AActor@@UEAAXXZ)
CompilerResultsLog:Error: Error C:\Users\Edwin\Documents\Unreal Projects\TPExample\Binaries\Win64\UE4Editor-TPExample-5429.dll : fatal error LNK1120: 1 unresolved externals

What’s happening?

did you write the function prototype in Actor.cpp?

I don’t know, could you give an example. DOn’t quite know what you mean.

I wrote it in Actor.h if that’s what you mean

This is what a function prototype looks like
you would write it in Actor.cpp

void AActor::Hit()

{
   //Your Function Implementation Goes Here
}