I have a question about materials and props in Unreal Engine 4

So in this video ?v=XDsJOFyxMnw I saw some assets that the guy using the program has, (and im pretty new with unreal engine so i gotta ask) but how does he have those type of assets like the SM_stairs or the SM_statue, because i know you got to download them or make them but i dont know where to download or how to make them and i want some pretty cool stuff like he has, so if you guys can help me out here because i am a total newbie with this and im sorry but yeah, thanks for the help!

Hi Jacksu

You will be able to download from the marketplace on your launcher the demo projects released by epic.

Once you have them you can either open them and export everything you need to your project content folder or you can manually navigate to the content folder of what you downloaded and copy the whole thing.

I recommend having a look at content examples. You will find a lot of good stuff there.

Hope this helps.

Just open one of the projects from the marketplace - right click onto an asset that you would like to have in our own project - migrate - choose the folder of the new project - save it into the content folder

When you would like to create such stuff, you will have to learn a 3d program like blender, 3ds , maya,…

For the materials:
https://docs.unrealengine/latest/INT/Engine/Rendering/Materials/ExpressionReference/index.html
https://docs.unrealengine/latest/INT/Engine/Rendering/Materials/MaterialInputs/index.html
https://docs.unrealengine/latest/INT/Resources/ContentExamples/Materials/index.html

Hi Jacksu,

As Robbie and have pointed out you can download these projects from the Marketplace. With the current amount of projects that are freely available on the Marketplace should give you a good head start with some content! :slight_smile:

The particular video you used is from the Content Examples, which is host to a lot of good examples.