Download

I don't understand Switch Has Authority

I’m new to replication. I watch some replication tutorials, and some people use Switch Has Authority and other’s just use events. I’m confused. What’s the point of it? I used to think the authority was the server and remote was the clients. Yet now I’m hearing the clients can have authority too. If this is the case it seems pointless.

So my main concern is when should I use Switch has Authority and when should I not use it when dealing with replication? Thanks!

Tutorials aren’t worth a sht dude, not in this area (HasAuthority often ends up being overused / misused).
In practice, you will often have to use it in conjunction with **IsServer **or IsLocallyControlled plus others.:wink:

This is my understanding of how it works. But as I warned you in the other thread, Multiplayer is a mindf**k!
Example: If Client2 spawns an object it will exist on Client2 only and Client2 will have sole network authority.
On a Listen-Server setup Client2/Client3 etc will have no authority over Server Client1’s actors whatsoever.
But the Server Client1 will have authority over Client2 / Client3 objects as they were spawned on the server!

So unlike a Dedicated-Server, Listen-Server HasAuthority is not always a safe indicator of Server vs. Client!
Its often more useful as an indicator of ownership or who created an actor than anything else, so its misused.

Tutorials and Docs should not be teaching stuff this way as its misleading, yet that’s Epic’s own docs for you!
The best thing is just experiment and try things in small practical projects as that really helps. Forget tutorials!