I don't understand Switch Has Authority

I’m new to replication. I watch some replication tutorials, and some people use Switch Has Authority and other’s just use events. I’m confused. What’s the point of it? I used to think the authority was the server and remote was the clients. Yet now I’m hearing the clients can have authority too. If this is the case it seems pointless.

So my main concern is when should I use Switch has Authority and when should I not use it when dealing with replication? Thanks!

So, if I’m understanding you correctly. Switch Has Authority isn’t very useful for a listen server set up, which is what I’m using. The server will ultimately have control and that’s why it doesn’t matter if I route clients through the authority branch. The system will still treat them as clients and override them using the server’s standards. For a beginner, Switch appears misleading. Unless I’m dealing with determining ownership, or more advanced stuff, I should just stick with events.

You mentioned Is Locally Controlled, this is another term I see tossed around. Some times in tutorials I’ll see conditionals of them on Begin Play. In my situation of using a Listen Server set up, when should I use or avoid these? Up till now, I would just add them or take them out on whim hoping I’d get a lucky configuration which would work. Yet if they are not necessary for my purposes, I don’t want to waste my time with them.