I deleted my entire project by accident and the epic games launcher didn’t even send it to the bin… It just deketed everything.
I renamed the folder of my project and then I deleted it, but unreal actually deleted the renamed folder.
And this is how we all learned to:
- use remote source control even for solo projects
- use an automatic backup solution (I like Backblaze)
There is no other way to learn to properly use remote source control, and automatic backups.
Nobody starts doing that until they lose their first real project.
On the bright side, hopefully you now have this out of the way and it won’t happen again! (That of course doesn’t make it sting less in the here-and-now. I feel for you, I really do, having done very similar things myself.)
Yes, the launcher looks for a project file, not a folder; the folder name can be completely different from the project name. If you hover over the project in the launcher, it will show you the path to the project, and if you right click, it will let you show in folder.
Make sure not to delete something until you know exactly what you’re deleting.