I am wondering if it is possible to create a vector/plane from the direction of motion?

Basically, I am using “slice procedural mesh” to cut through materials with a “lightsaber” but I can never get the slicing plane to be at the right angle. Since it’s a lightsaber and not a sword, most of my animations don’t have the lightsaber swing following one plane like you would with a sword, because it doesn’t have to, it’s omnidirectional.

Because of this, if I just try to attach a plane to the blade of the saber, the angle of the slice is hardly ever rotated correctly. Currently, I just have the slice cutting a random angle between -15 and 15 degrees from horizontal to add some variation.

I figured if I could track the motion of the lightsaber and make a plane from it that could make a very accurate slice angle but I have no idea how I would do that or if it’s even possible. I am very new to programming and game design so any help/ideas would be appreciated.

1 Like

I’m just speculating here, but the math should work. Try this:

1. Add two socket to the saber mesh, one at the tip of the saber, the other somewhere on the blade.
  2. Get the location of one tip socket in two different frames during the attack animation. Subtract one from the other, and you get one vector of the plane.
  3. Subtract location of one socket from location of the other socket, and that’s the second vector you’re looking for.
  4. Now I’m not sure if you can create a plane just from these two vectors, but there’s a node that creates a plane from the normal vector: [Make Plane From Point And Normal]; to get the normal you need, get the [Cross Product] of the first two vectors you have. The point should be the location of either socket. That’s the plane you’re looking for.

P.S. There’s a node called [Make Plane] but it takes in four floats and I have no idea how to use it.

2 Likes