I am having a heck of a time understanding this.

I am not new to object languages I have programmed in C base languages in the past but I am very new to the blueprint system and things that in my mind should just work never do I am so at a loss. In this example I am attempting to retrieve the boolean variable “driving” which is set to true in the On possess Script on my Third person character BP. SET var Driving is on the end of the enter cockpit as the last action. and ticked to be set to true when I Hit E to enter the cockpit essentially.

I have made the variable public in both of the references to it within 3rd person and within the anim blueprint.

I have set up the Bone transform in the animgraph and verified it does work be disconnecting and reconnecting the False return seeing immediate change to the object. The problem I am having is I have tried doing Cast to, I have tried get all actors of class attempting to pull the Var from an array and a couple other little methodologies I could think up and nothing seems to work. I just cant seem to get the value of that boolean to properly set.

I’m not stupid but clearly ignorant of whatever I am doing wrong. Help!

Here is my current setup for returning and setting local Variables in a function.

Please forgive my particular organization style I make it pretty when it works and tend to smash things together as blocks of minor functions until I get something debugged.

Hey @Korwinthale!

So what I’m going to need on this one is a few things:

Where is this function? From what I understand it is on the Animation Blueprint on something, but I don’t know what. Is it for the ship or the third person character?

Secondly, WHEN is this function? It’s possible that it is getting called before the value is set to true in the execution line.

Get that stuff back to us and hopefully we can get this ironed out!

1 Like

I have it setup Thus, On my TPCBP I have an input event within the event graph.