I am at a loss about getting depth of field to work for android test level deployment...

Hi.
I started using Unreal about a week ago. I am planning to port over from Unity with a project that I have been developing for around 3 years. I had to learn modelling, texturing and everything else from scratch so if I am not very good at technical stuff, please bear with me.
My background is in film so everything I do has to in some way correspond to the vision I have in my mind. For this particular project it is essential to have depth of field. I have studied the documentation on unreal engine rendering capabilities and building for Android… I think my settings are correct, but for some reason depth of field never works in the levels that I deploy to my phone for testing.
I am working on a late 2014 Macbook pro Retina with Unreal engine 4 version 4.21.1.
The phone that I deploy to is a Samsung S8 plus.
Can someone please help me to get this working…?

Just in case, I had similar problem with no DoF working on mobile, it was because the mobile profile:

https://forums.unrealengine.com/development-discussion/android-development/1521242-gaussian-dof-android-4-19

Thank you very much… I will try that tomorrow…:slight_smile:

Hi Naitguolf. Can you please tell me specifically what to do? I have been trying and tweaking all morning and it still isn’t working.

Hi.

Go to \ProjectName\Config

Open DefaultDeviceProfiles.ini

add this file (or edit to match)

+CVars=r.DepthOfFieldQuality=1

Regards

Thank you very much…:slight_smile: I will let you know when I have success…

Hi anyone…