[Huge Feedback] Unreal 4 in general and Blueprint in particular

[FONT=Palatino Linotype]Introduction

Hello :slight_smile:

This is a long feedback about what I think might be worth improving in Unreal 4 in general and Blueprint in particular.

I started Unreal 4 one year and a half ago and I’ve been intensively coding and prototyping for the past 6 months. And I’m here to make my report.

Before anything, I need to tell you about how I use Unreal 4 and what is my experience with it just so you can put my thoughts into perspective.

I’m 25, I’m a Game Designer and a self-taught programmer-ish.
I’ve been working with Blueprint since my beginnings on Unreal 4. I can make almost any feature a shipped game would need, within its limits. I’m using only Blueprint because I believe it is the future of programmation for Game Designers. It is our gate to become prototypers. It is a tool that make us a huge asset in the team. Being able to quickly prototypate and test features is a huge benefit. Not to mention the fact that it makes us more receptive to our programmer needs and way to communicate.

You got it, I bloody love Blueprint. It reminds me of old Warcraft 3’s World Editor which I started on at the age of 12. It was using GUI, a simplified version of the JASS code used within their game engine. Well, Blueprint is as simple as GUI but a thousand times more powerful. I feel like a kid again. I even have some muscle memory that make me use World Edit’s shortcuts within UE (Q to hide all windows). When using Unreal 4 in general and Blueprint in particular, I feel at home.

What is my report about? It’s about making our working environment so imbricated with our muscles and reflexes that we’re like pianists when using it. It’s also about reporting some strange behaviors I encountered (that might come from my mistakes, or not).