How's memory usage with a variable like this?

I know globals are a bad thing

How much is this a “global”? I only need this variable in an other class that’s derived from the class this variable is declared in

UPROPERTY(EditAnywhere, BlueprintReadWrite, Category = Details)
    uint32 bDisabled : 1;

Not yet really familiar with the UE API but feel free to give me some pointers. I have +10 years C++ experience behind me. How much memory does this take compared to for example BlueprintReadOnly instead of BlueprintReadWrite or does it make any change, also with EditAnywhere ? Or is it just a matter of private: protected: and public: etc?

I did read wiki but there was no information about memory or performance usage on C++ variable “parameters”

I never noticed a difference between those, if there is any difference it is probably very small.

The EditAnywhere tag doesn’t make it a global variable. In fact, nothing that you do with UPROPERTY will change whether a variable is global or not, or public or private, etc.

UPROPERTY is, AFAIK, only for exposing variables to the Editor and Blueprints, and also some stuff related to networking(?). BlueprintReadWrite vs BlueprintReadOnly is the same as being able to edit the variable in Blueprints vs being able to only see the variable in Blueprints. In the same vein, EditAnywhere is the converse to VisibleAnywhere.

I believe the memory impact is either non-existent or totally negligible. I’m not wise in the ways of memory, but I do know it is standard and recommended practice to attach the UPROPERTY macro to all variables *except *those you explicitly don’t want being edited in Editor/Blueprint. I would assume that this holds true because there is no memory impact that would encourage otherwise.

Instead of using uint32, which is 4 bytes, why not just use bool which takes the space of just one byte?

Edit: can’t do simple math anymore, 4 bytes, not 8

Have a look into bitfields my friend :wink: