How you guys make hair for character? like in Paragon

Im really new in game assets, so hope you guys can help me :smiley:
I want ask about character creation, I think this is general question, Im using paragon character for example because their are really realistic…
In paragon, the character has a realistic hair, so…

this is screenshot from video:
vlcsnap-error171.png

• First, I want ask about hair strand, its look like real hair strand, is that really real hair strand? or just cylinder or flat plane mesh?. is they created using manual polygon modeling or using special system?
  • how they make hair textures? is they draw it in PS? or using photograph from real hair or making it from 3D (like using Maya hair/yeti then render it to make texture from it?
  • for eyelashes, what is that, hair strand system again or just plane?

Actually, Im already watch the video, I think their talking about hair texture creation at 33:00, but english is not my language, so my listening skill is bad so Im not 100% understand what are they talking about :frowning:
I only 100% believe that I heard Jordan said “like modo”
and if Im not wrong, he said something like make the hair, and lay it on screen/scene, then bake it into few map and make alpha texture, so for second question is they make hair texture using 3D approach?
and Im hear something like “car? card? or char?” what is that?

I think this is general technique, so if you have your own way to make it, I really happy to hear it too

–most 3D programs have some type of hair rendering integrated into it, you can use this to render a group of hair to make a set of textures
–map the textures to very simple meshes–start out with a plane. These would be called “hair cards”, they can be as simple as a plane for stuff like short hair, or for longer hair you would have more segments in the mesh so that you can bend it.