how to use UMG buttons to drive different state in animation blueprint

Hi there,

I’m new to unreal, and I am stuck with some problem about button in UMG to control each state in state machine. I have watched some tutorial and tried following them, and still didn’t get it.
In my set up, Animation BP, I created variable"Idle to Float" to switch between Idle state to float state. Then in UMG, I create variable “Is Float?” and hook it up with button press, with flip flop in between. My goal was when clicking button it will switch “Is Floating?” to on and off then it will drive “Idle to Float”. I’m not sure I understand it correctly. Please help. Thank you in advance.

Here are my screen shots
screen1
screen2

It sounds like you are trying to fly. First of all, you can set that in the character movement component. :slight_smile:

1. Select your character movement component in your Character Blueprint, and then type “fly” into the search area of the details panel.

2. Check the box to allow your character to fly.

3. In the event graph, go ahead and bind a key to set flying to true. You should be able to pull a flying node out of a character movement getter. (We will change this to your UMG in a moment).

4. Check that it works. Your character should now be able to “fly,” but the animation won’t be there.

Next the Anim Blueprint…

1. In the animation blueprint, pull off from the “get pawn owner” node (if you are using an animation blueprint that comes with starter character, it should be the one that has a bunch of things pulled off of it already). Get the character movement component from it.

2. Then, from the character movement you just got pull off the “is flying” bool.

3. Make another flying bool inside the animation blueprint itself. Set it using the “is flying” bool you just pulled off of character movement.