How to use OnActorBeginOverlap c++ code?

Hi, I have a class inheriting from Character. He has by default a CapsuleComponent. And I want to define the behavior of the overlapping event inside the code.

I would appreciate a step by step instruction with possible explanation of this magnificent feet, or a reference to something similar.

Note Please assume that I have very little knowledge of what Multicast Delagate is.

In your class constructor you have to bind a function to your component, something along the lines of:

CapsuleComponent->OnComponentBeginOverlap.AddDynamic(this, &AYourClass::YourFunction);

Then either set the behaviour of the component in an inherited blueprint or before you bind it in c++. Look up the functions available and how collision channels work in ue4 to know what is going to actually fire the event. Id suggest creating another component and setting that thing’s behaviour, then attaching it to the root component all in c++. Im sure if you look around a bit you’ll find a lot of examples and tutorials. I think the C++ tutorial by epic covers this topic and shows the code.

can you help me with the signiture of “YourFunction” because I am doing it like in the tutorial and it doesn’t compile.

and maybe if you know what for is the “this” variable, and what is the difference between .AddDynamic .Add .AddUnique. All questions that dont let me sleep at night.

Im not looking at the tutorial at the moment, but the function signature im using is this:
UFUNCTION()
void BeginOverlap(class AActor* OtherActor, class UPrimitiveComponent* OtherComp, int32 OtherBodyIndex, bool bFromSweep, const FHitResult &SweepResult);

The this pointer is used probably to identify the instance of the character. This is so that the code uses that instance’s function. So it does this->BeginOverlap, otherwise it wont know WHICH character the event function is calling.