How to use ConstructorHelpers::FObjectFinder

I am kind of new to the Unreal C++ arena. I know C++ and I primarily code within the Unity atmosphere, but I am not sure what exactly I am doing wrong with this script. I simply want to find a blueprint in the content browser and spawn it later down the line. Right now I have just been having trouble finding the object itself. I followed a different forum on how to spawn an actor in C++ but for some reason my code cannot find the objects.

// this function is simply supposed to return if I have found the object needed to spawn in

bool AActorSpawnerCPP::GetNewActorByName(FString newActorName) 
{
	bool foundActor = false;
	// file location should be:
	// Blueprint'/Game/ObjectsToBeAdded/Blueprints/
	// specifically Blueprint'/Game/ObjectsToBeAdded/Blueprints/BP.BP'
	//  or it could be Blueprint'/Game/ObjectsToBeAdded/Blueprints/PleaseWork.PleaseWork'
	FString tempFileLoc = fileLocation + newActorName + "."+newActorName;

// this is the hard coded way for the object but it still does not find it
	//tempFileLoc = "/Game/ObjectsToBeAdded/Blueprints/BP.BP";

static ConstructorHelpers::FObjectFinder<UBlueprint> lookForObj(*tempFileLoc);

if (lookForObj.Object != NULL) {
		TSubclassOf<AActor> BlueprintVar;
		BlueprintVar = (UClass*)lookForObj.Object->GeneratedClass;
		foundActor = true;
	}
	else {
		UE_LOG(LogTemp, Error, TEXT("Could not find %s in the location: %s"), *newActorName, *tempFileLoc);
	}
	return foundActor;
}

It’s gotten to the point I do not know what I am doing wrong and need someone with more expertise to steer me in the right direction.

Thanks for whatever

1 Like

ConstructorHelpers need to be in constructor, which is AActorSpawnerCPP::AActorSpawnerCPP()
Otherwise, use LoadObject

Regarding the file location, you can use right-click on the asset in content browser, then choose Copy Reference, and set it to the file path

1 Like