How to trigger a blueprint via Sequencer?

Hello there,

So I’m an animator/film-maker and I use UE4 more like a renderer than a game engine. Currently I’m working on a Star Wars Fan-Film and I created a blueprint that will make the stormtroopers shoot (Basic projectile script) and I want to make a trigger to allow me to activate the action of shooting from within Sequencer. Similar to how you can trigger/activate/deactivate particle effects in Sequencer. Is this possible?

Thanks,
Shain

Hello Shain,

It looks like you can add the BPs you’d like to call Functions/CustomEvents on to your sequence actor. (Just call events as you would with an events track (Be sure to right-click on the keyframe and set the Event Name))

Hope that helps!

This isn’t really something that is going to work for me. If I have let’s say 10 characters and they all are going to have that blueprint to shoot, then it will be really hard to manage I think.

I noticed I can create a custom event and tick “Call In Editor” and then it appears in the details tab of the character, but I can’t get that into Sequencer so I can’t animate it. Is there a way to get it to show up inside of Sequencer? Thanks

Okay, I got it to work by creating a “Trigger” variable and making it public, and keyframing that

Shain98-- I’d really like to know how keyframing a variable allowed you to call an event. I think I’m trying to do something similar (basically run the construction script only once as opposed to every frame). I’d be fine with just having to add a simple key to the timeline to trigger this event. Can you describe a bit more in detail what you did?