How to tell what direction I'm moving in (F/B/L/R)

I’m still rather new to Unreal and game development in general; so please, bare with me.

Basically I’m trying to find out what direction my player is moving, I need that info to dictate what type of action my player should take, for example playing different attack animations depending on the direction player im moving, or deciding what directional animation to play when my character rolls.

I’m going to assume this is all wrong, but this is what I have in terms of my combat blendspace if this helps get an idea what I’m trying to achieve here.

Basic logic I assume would be **bIsAttacking && Direction InRange **

When my player enters the combat blend space I have locked the rotation yaw so the player is always facing the camera direction.

My current way of getting the direction I think is sound (as it’s working for my 2D BS), only problem is it isn’t being set back to 0 when I’m not moving, even with a branch to set direction back to 0 when speed is equal or less than #

This is my first attempt and making a Anim Graph and from the looks of others seen in the past, I could be doing it wrong as well.

Cheers,

Put all that logic into single blueprint function (or macro) inside animation blueprint, then store its result in variable. Animation graph should read that variable, this reduces redundant code in all those decision arrows.
I usually put such code in macros, each macro sets some variable, that anim graph reads.

Sorry, a lot of those branches are just me trying to debug whats going on, and would you still suggest I put this all into a function if this sequence of code is only being used once?

I’ve solved this for the most part, when I’m ready I’ll post an answer for references sake, cheers.

No i suggest you put all complicated logic into macro or function, then you save result of that logic into some variable.