How to suppress player movement inside trigger volume?

Hello there,

I would like to force my player to freeze in place on Event Actor Begin Overlap for two seconds.
My experiments with some nodes locking the Input were not successful, because these nodes seems to do nothing.

greetings
Hirk

Hello,

I’m relatively new to blueprints and timers, but maybe this can help:

when Event Actor Begin Overlap, call Get Player Character (I assume you talking about third person game) -> Disable Movement -> Set Timer by Function Name - and specify StartMoveAgain custom function name which you will create next, and at Timer value write 2.

Create new custom function StartMoveAgain (name as you want, this is just example) which will enable your movement. Inside this function:
Get Player Character -> Set Movement Mode - and choose Walking mode

At Event Actor End Overlap call Clear Timer by Handle and connect it to timer node as shown :
https://docs.unrealengine.com/latest/images/Gameplay/HowTo/UseTimers/Blueprints/GHT6B_3.jpg
in your case instead of Fire events from example, will be Begin and End Overlaps events.

More on timers you can read : https://docs.unrealengine.com/latest/INT/Gameplay/HowTo/UseTimers/Blueprints/

Again, I didn’t try that, but I think it should work, at least that is how I would try it.

Another way, MAYBE will work is:
Event Actor Begin Overlap -> Get Player Character -> Disable Movement -> Delay and set delay value to 2 seconds -> Get Player Character -> Set Movement Mode - and choose Walking mode
If it will not freeze WHOLE game for 2 seconds, you should achieve the result you want.

Hope this info helps or push you in proper direction for achieving your desired result. Good luck :slight_smile:

Thanks for replay!
My Problem is not about timing. I wants to achieve, that the Charakter stops moving, even when I am pressing the W key.