How to start with Unreal Engine 4 (the right way) ?

Hello dear UE4 Community,
i would like to start with Unreal Engine 4 in the right way.
I already played around with Unreal Engine 4, made some UI and so on, but that’s not what i’m looking in this thread.
I want to start creating games in the right and best way.
I came up with that question because i remembered how i started to code websites. You don’t learn on youtube how to code a website in the optimal way, how to separate files so they make sense and can be used more efficient, simple example are PHP headers which are included in other websites. Saves lot of time and editing.

So how do i start the right way? Should i first start doing the game or the UI? How should i separate the files?

I don’t have the answer, I’m a novice but have a great deal of experience and skill in many 3D applications. This program and its complexity is mind blowing. I have several books, watched many YouTube lessons and struggled with my projects and am nearly ready to toss in the towel.

Just trying to get a clear answer to basic problem is, at times, an overwhelming challenge.

If I had co-workers that are truly experts perhaps this would be simpler. However; I need to use traditional resources. I find this next to impossible. There are so many different resources that it’s like trying to read confetti, I need a complete concise book (See the Mastering Revit book for Revit) for a complete reference to all the functions of the program. Then I could fill in behind that knowledge with examples, advice, and trial and error work flow.

Help!

2 Likes

Yeah, i’m now following a Tutorial from Virtus Learning Hub and it’s pretty easy to follow the video.