How to start off?

Hello

So me and some friends have combined this idea for a game, an open-world, skyisland, airship kind of game. And i was wondering how you actually start working on like a real Project.
I don’t want to end up starting all over again because i didn’t start off the right way.

So how do you get your project ready (while keeping what kind of game we want to make in mind)?
We’ll be using Unreal engine, probably Blender too.
Should i use C++? (I have some experience in programming)

(sorry for the lack of questions, i just really don’t know where to start.)

thanks in advance
Shawn

P.S Many questions could follow from this point on…

Fair warning, a full scale game will take A LOT of time and effort. Youre gonna need to really commit to this if you dont want to end up with vaporware.

That said, its definitely doable if you put in the time and effort needed to pull it off.

How many are you? What are your competencies? The most efficient way to go about undertaking a big project is to specialize in a specific aspect of development (animation, 3D modeling/art, programming, level design, sound). If youre all starting from scratch, this is also the best approach to learning the requisite basics for each discipline within a reasonable timeframe.

As for a specific timeline for development, that depends on where most of your talents lie. The idea is to show off a demo that will attract the talent you lack. If youre mostly programmers, focus on getting a functional gameplay prototype out the door. If youre mostly artists focus on getting something like a cinematic trailer done to show of the general artistic direction you want to pursue.