How to split functions of one Button?

Hello, and Thank you so much for taking the time to help me out!

I’m new to unreal, but I’ve been flailing about the Blueprint System for a few days now…

I’m working on a Side Scroller (not a Sprite based one but a 3D side scroller) and I wanted to have a controller button (X) function as the run mechanic. Pretty basic stuff- or so I thought…

So I got the idle and walk animations and their respective blueprints for left and right movement and I thought I was doing pretty decent… Until I decided to build a blueprint for the Run mechanic…

My goal was to have my character walk in a direction until the (X) button is pressed and held-then while holding the (X) button the characters animation would change from walk to a run? Seems simple enough…

The problem I run into is that the (X) button can’t share a function with Run left and Run Right… When pressing the joystick in one direction and pressing the run button (X) it causes both animations to “fight” over themselves…I have tried to find the right blueprint node to break up the “Gamepad Face Button Left”'s press/release function but even after several different types of nodes trying to blunder apon the right one… I am still no closer to my goal…

I have tried so many things… It took me forever to even triangulate the problem. So essentially I would love someone’s wisdom and divine insight onto how to set this basic feature up?

I assumed it would be pretty intuitive seeing as it’s something abundantly seen in almost every Unreal side scroller and I desperately could use any/all aid that can be given!

Thanks again for taking the time to help out a lost fool like my self!

Cheers.

Hi Coyote King.