How to spawn mesh and move it to Player location

So I’m a noob at unreal engine and I’ve been having trouble with this and I feel like it should be simple. Anyway what I want is on a button click, a mesh will spawn. Right when it is spawned I want it to travel to the player controlled character and then float near his hand. If someone can help me with this, that would be fantastic. Thank You

You need to add a ( for instance ) simple sphere mesh to the player hand. Not visible in game, but attached to the hand, so it moves with the hand.

When you’re ready, spawn the new actor and move it to the world location of the sphere actor.

You could use a timeline or vinterp if you want this to happen gracefully.

So how exactly do you reference the sphere mesh you put on your character? I can’t seem to find a way to reference the sphere in the level blueprint, or do I put all this information in the actual character blueprint?

Hi - I’m not on a machine with the engine right now so can’t check, but one of two things:

1. You may be able to ‘getplaycharacter’ cast to your kind of character, then access the various components

2. Or, yes, do the whole thing in the character BP, would be pretty normal to do that also.

So the object spawns in the right place, but it’s still not moving to the sphere I put on the character BP. What exactly am I missing?

Are you getting your world/local positions mixed up? I assume MoveComponentTo uses a relative location and you’re giving it world.

Pull a pin from SphereOnPlayer and look for GetRelativeLocation :slight_smile:

Ah ok. I changed that, but it’s still not working. The projectile spawns, but stays in the position it spawned at. What else could be the issue?

Here’s how I did it:

I spawned a cube, and then used a timeline to move it to the location of the FP gun. Very similar in concept.

The two things I’m wondering about your setup are: