how to set up a lock-on system ??

Hello.

Firstly, I’d just like to say, I am rather new to Unreal and I have looked around and found information on this question on the forums.

However, There seem to be no “tutorials” on how to set up a Zelda esq target lock on system using BP.

I have tried to follow the example set out in: Blueprint: Helpful BP Functions - Community Content, Tools and Tutorials - Unreal Engine Forums

But I cannot get it to work.

I know this may have been asked a lot but can anyone link me to a tutorial or point me in the right direction on how on how to achieve this?

Thank you

Just a thought (I have not done this before):

First use the Get Direction Vector, using your character’s location and the target’s location as the input.

Then, feed the result into a Rotation from XVector node. Grab your camera and pull a “Set Rotation” node off of it and feed in the result of the previous node.

After that, it’s simply a matter of how often you want to call it. You could do it on an Event Tick I suppose, though I dislike using it. I dunno… I’ll leave that part up to you :slight_smile:

I wanted to try this out to see if I could make something useful for you so here you go