How to scale to real world measurements?

I AM new to ue4 and am having a difficult time scaling to real world measurements, I know 1uu = 1cm. But where my problem lies is trying to input the right measurements into the transform (As highlighted in the image). I have no clue on how to go about inputting the measurements.

Set the scale back to 1 for each axis

Right below that, where it says X, Y, and Z - Those are you measurements for your box. so your current box is 200x200x200 cm

Dont scale it, just use the brush settings

1 Like

This whole scaling thing can be indeed very confusing in the beginning. I agree with ugmoe to keep your scale at one and use brush settings although this only works for brushes and not for basic objects.

I don’t consider myself an expert, but I’ll try to explain it the way I think the scaling thing works (or how I use it):

Basic objects added from inside the “basic” section in unreal (e.g. a cube, a cylinder etc) tend to have scale 1.0 = 1 meter. If you set a cube to scale z-axis of 1.75, it should be a similar size as your character from your template (either first person or third person), so 1.75m in height. It will also be equal to 175 in you brush settings.

However, the scale of your character (or any other mesh you import) is set to 1 and not to 1.75 on the z-axis as you may expect. That is because the value of the zyx-axis in the transform panel means 1.0 = 100% of it’s original size (as defined within the modeling application). A mesh is created inside a modeling application with a proper scale and then imported. Once imported, it defaults to 1.0, regardless of its actual size.