How to run 4.5 editor in debug mode with hot reload?

Hi,

I’m looking for some tips for:
How to run 4.5 editor in debug mode with hot reload?

I did add a -debug on my shortcut so the editor load the debug DLL, but hotreload is not working as VS can’t write the new dll.

Thanks,

No one have issue or no one use the hot reload system in debug?

Thanks,

The way i currently work with hotreload, and its the way i am assuming you need to, but i may be wrong as i am no expert with UE4. Is i detach the debugger, rebuild and that triggers the hotreload, and then i just re attach the debugger. There may be a better way to go about it, but at the mo moment that is how i have found to be able to hotreload

Thanks Pada, this is exactly what I was looking to do, but unsuccessfully.

Did you succeed with it with launching the editor with the -debug argument? It’s for use the dll from debug configuration and not the development ones.

thanks,

have you tried changing the build settings in visual studio to one of the debug outputs so that it will build the right DLL so that hot reload can pick it up?

based on what you have it set to the DLL’s name changes

In fact, when I built the Debug Dll, they were in “not writable” so the build failed. I was wondering if the Editor was able to work on the Debug DLL as with the development one and be able to “release” them for hotreload"
I will try again tonight and see how I can do that as everyone succeed in this, it must be something wrong on my side ^^