How to rotate the game world in-game.

I’m relatively new to UE4 and Blueprint, but is there anyway to rotate the world in-game using a player input?

Basically I’m attempting to rotate the game world only along the axis’ to guide a cube through tunnel-like levels getting from point A to B. It’s very early at the minute and I currently only have a small system that allows me to rotate an object on the pitch but it seems like there should be a much easier way.

Is it possible to change the flow of gravity on the fly in-game ? That seems like a much easier solution.

Arbitrary gravity is on the way in a future engine update, but as of now is not possible.

The best way to do this would be to make the environment a child of a movable base object that you would rotate with player input, taking the rest of the world with it.

Unless you want to rotate in perfect increments, timelines are probably not the best way to go about doing this. Just make the base object receive input and set its rotation to be its current rotation + input.

Cheers Jared, yeah I do want to move in perfect increments ala Fez. I’ll try it out and see if I can get it working.

Oh! Well in that case, timelines can do what you want. I’d recommend using Lerp (Rotator), with From being your base object’s current rotation and To being the same but with Pitch incremented. The Timeline would then interpolate between 0 and 1 over time instead of interpolating the pitch value directly. This way you can get rid of the gate and have just a single timeline. The output float value of that timeline would plug into the “Alpha” input on the Lerp function. The output of the Lerp would set actor rotation on the base object.

You can also check our free plugin, iTween for UE4 here: [Open Beta] Procedural On-the-Fly Animation in UE4: iTween! - Blueprint Visual Scripting - Unreal Engine Forums!